Holy Nerdiness Batman

Sometimes, I just have to sit in silent awe of the nerdiness of my household.  It is something to behold.  And I’m not talking about the whole “trendy geek” thing either.  This is the awkward sort of nerdiness that halts conversations and makes people intently interested in their jewelry or silverware, just to avoid eye contact.

Today, as Toby was leaving for the property, he said, “Adios, Percival Lowell” (much the same way MOST husbands would say, “’Bye, sweetie”) and gave me a kiss. 

Now, I’m used to being called Percy Wales, but that’s generally not a term of endearment.  He uses that one when I’m frustrated and my lips are pursed up like the north end of south bound horse.  He also calls my purse Percy Wales so it can get a bit confusing, but I’m used to Toby calling me and everyone else (and everything) oddball names. 

Percival Lowell still surprised me.  Who?

I guess I should be flattered to be called by the name of a brilliant mathematician/astronomer.  That whole “began the effort that eventually led to the discovery of Pluto” is HOT!   Or at least it was, until Pluto’s membership to the planet club was so rudely revoked.  The mustache was a thing of beauty. And he was an author.  But I wouldn’t mind if Toby occasionally used pop culture references when referring to me.  I would totally answer to Sofia Vergara…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Holy Nerdiness Batman

  1. Karen Cripe

    Keep writing! You make my day!

Leave a comment